University Council

University Council Chair

Chair of the University Council

Dr. Florah Karimi holds a Doctor of Education Degree in Educational Psychology and is an East African quality assurance expert in higher education.

Dr. Karimi is currently the Program Manager of the Consortium for Advanced Research Training in Africa (CARTA), which is an Africa Regional doctoral and research initiative hosted at the African Population and Health Research Center (APHRC). At APHRC, she also plays the critical role in the development of grant proposals, carrying out research and projects in higher education related areas and building research capacities.

She previously served as the Technical Advisor on University Education in the Ministry of Education (Kenya) where she was also the national representative in two World Bank Projects relating to higher education, namely the African Centers of Excellence (ACE II) and Partnerships for Skills in Applied Sciences, Engineering and Technology (PASET). She has also served as the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration and Finance) PanAfrica Christian University; the Deputy Commission Secretary (Accreditation) of the Commission for University Education in Kenya; and a registrar at Daystar University in Kenya. She has also been a lecturer in Research Methods and Psychology for both undergraduate and postgraduate students and supervised postgraduate students in their research work.

Dr. Karimi continues to contribute to different Boards and Committee whose role relates to the furtherance of education


University Council Members

Dr. Irungu Macharia
Mr. Job Njiru
Mrs. Jane Tobiko
Ms. Philomena Kirkomen
Eng. Samuel Charagu
Mr. Joel Ole Leshao
Advocate Joel Nchoe
Dr. Dinah Mwinzi – Secretary